‘Nasty Trick’ … Used By Microsoft? Never!

Never a stranger to controversy, Microsoft has been in the spotlight again recently – in yet another storm about Windows 10.
The ‘nagging’ that many Windows users will be receiving is more persistent than ever at the moment. Not only that but the ‘sneaky trick’ that some IT people feel is underhand has to do with trying to close the ‘nagging’ pop-up box.
Usually, clicking the cross on the top right hand side of a pop-up screen is to close the pop-up. However, Microsoft now accepts this as tacit agreement to upgrade to Windows 10, rather than rejecting it.
In a bid to stem the resentment this confusing new policy has caused, Microsoft has said that you can still cancel the upgrade at the point that Windows 10 is due to to be installed.
Why Has Microsoft Changed Its Policy Now?
The update has been classified as “recommended” and with interest in IT security at an all time high with business owners and general pubic alike, a significant proportion of Windows users have their settings configured to automatically accept “recommended” updates.
In short, closing the pop-up box does not cancel your automatic upgrade to Windows 10.
Some notable people in the IT industry have considered this move to be a “nasty trick”, including Brad Chacos of PC World, who went on to say “Deploying these dirty tricks only frustrates long-time Windows users who have very valid reasons to stick with operating systems they already know and love”.
Microsoft have defended their position by saying :”With the free Windows 10 upgrade offer ending on 29 July, we want to help people upgrade to the best version of Windows.

As we shared in October, Windows 10 will be offered as a ‘recommended’ update for Windows 7 and 8.1 customers whose Windows Update settings are configured to accept ‘recommended’ updates.
Customers can choose to accept or decline the Windows 10 upgrade.”
Stop-Press.
At the time of writing, Microsoft has just u-turned it’s policy here.
Due to the negative feedback and publicity, Microsoft just announced it would add another notification that provided customers with “an additional opportunity for cancelling the upgrade”.
What This Means For Your Business
It is entirely likely that having Windows 10 software automatically installed on your company’s PCs is a good thing and could even save you money in the medium and long term.
However, in any event, it would be sensible to ascertain in advance how the upgrade will impact any systems and software you specifically may be running. Indeed any older, legacy software could possibly stop working properly if there are compatibility issues so obviously it’s best to check in advance.
It will be interesting to see how aggressively Microsoft insists your company upgrades in the future … and how this could affect your licencing with other software vendors you rely on.